Roles define what users in your organization can or can not do.
Each user has a single role which you can set with a PUT request to Memberships API.
Every role has a set of permissions that represent actions users can do in Close.
Some roles, like "Admin" role, are maintained by the system and you cannot edit them.
Make sure to move all users off this role first by updating their "role_id" attribute first.